Dear Siddharth
Whereas, in your earlier emails, you indicated
Ø 3 to
4 cents per click, and
Ø 0.5 %
CTR
This article talks of
Ø 10
cents per click, and
Ø 1.0 %
CTR
Can you please enlighten ?
We are expecting “ My Jobs “ widget ( Smart phone version ) to
be made available for final testing by end of next week
If everything goes OK then it will be uploaded week thereafter
Regards
hemen
From:
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Of InMobi Feed
Sent: Thursday, December 15, 2011 11:41 PM
To: Hemen Parekh
Subject: InMobi Feed - Updates from Blog, News, Press.
Sent: Thursday, December 15, 2011 11:41 PM
To: Hemen Parekh
Subject: InMobi Feed - Updates from Blog, News, Press.
InMobi Feed - Updates from Blog,
News, Press.
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Posted: 15 Dec 2011 06:32
AM PST
One question I often get asked
is if a developer can make more money from selling an app than from using
advertising. I thought I’d step you through why advertising may be financially
advantageous.
Let’s assume that you sell
your app at 99 cents – or 99 pence – or any “cheaper than a cup of coffee”
price point.
Most app stores charge you
30% for the privilege of selling your app. So, straight away, you’re at 70c
per user, per app.
Still, 70c isn’t bad, is it?
One thing we’re very keen to talk about at InMobi is the lifetime value of a
customer.
Imagine if you sold your app
on the first day of the Apple App Store in 2008.
A user downloads your app for 99c – she then upgrades her phone to the 3GS and downloads the app again. You don’t see another penny. She upgrades to the 4GS – and again downloads your app – still no more money for you. In mid 2012 she upgrades to the iPhone 5G (she loves her phones!).
You have been selling your
app for four years. How much is that customer worth to you?
Customer Lifetime Value:
(99c * 0.7) / 4 years = 17.5c per year
After four years, your dollar
app has earned you less
than 20c per customer per year! For every year that your
customers upgrade their phones and download the app again, it gets worse.
After five years, it’s down
to 14c. Can you afford to support old customers who are barely bringing in
the cost of a stick of chewing gum? Can you keep adding new customers to
subsidise the old ones?
The Case For Advertising
How can giving your app away get
you more money that charging 99 cents can? It’s pretty simple when we look at
the lifetime value
of a customer.
We aim pay to a developer –
on average – 10 cents every time their customer clicks on an advert.
So, over four years, you need
each customer to click two adverts per year and you’re already doing better
than selling an app at 99 cents.
We know – from years of
experience – that the average clicks through rate is 1%. That’s not a lot.
But if your app is used every
single day – and your customer sees just one advert during that time – you’re
showing over 300 adverts per customer. Statistically, we would expect you to
get a little over 3 clicks.
10c per click. 3 clicks per
year. It doesn’t take a genius to work out that 30c per customer per year is
better than the 20c / customer / year you would get from selling your app.
If you can put two adverts in
your app (say one on the splash screen and one when they exit)…
2 adverts per day
* 365 days
* 1% Click Through Rate
* 10c per click
= 70c per customer per year
You could be earning the same
amount every year
as you earn from a single sale. Worth thinking about, isn’t it?
The Bonus
Ok… ok… 70c per customer per
year probably isn’t going to be enough to let swim around in your riches like
Scrooge McDuck.
Well – not if you’ve got the
same number of free customers as paid customers. Here’s the thing – free apps
are downloaded around ten
times more than paid apps.
Ten times the customers. More
revenue per customer. Continual income…. It’s starting to look good, isn’t
it?
If you’re interested is
working out what you could be earning, download our Developer
Economic Toolkit.
You can get started with InMobi
by signing up at www.inmobi.com/promo and use promo-code Terence70. Or,
take a read through our Developer Wiki.
This posting includes an
audio/video/photo media file: Download Now
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